Cleanliness is next to godliness

I have to admit I was pretty naive on things when it came to raising girls. One pre-conceived notion I had about girls was put to rest pretty quickly. I was always under the impression girls were neat and tidy. Growing up as a boy and with two brothers I knew most men were slobs. My room was filled with clothes, comic books and toys. My bed was never made and my concept of cleaning was to just shove things places.

Most of my friend’s rooms were pretty much the same as mine. That didn’t change much with age either as the older we all got our rooms at home or their college dorms did not do anything alter my opinion. My experiences with girls however were the exact opposite. In school girls lockers were always very organized and well decorated while I had to dig through my locker to find the books I was looking for.

Any time I was in a girl’s room it was always clean and immaculate. And I would know because most of the time I was in there the lights always stayed on and unfortunately I usually wasn’t doing anything to distract me from noticing their rooms. Getting married allowed me to continue my assumptions. While I was still a bit of a slob my wife was ordered and structured.

When having three daughters I knew there was a lot I had to be worried about, one thing, however I didn’t anticipate were them being absolute slobs. Their rooms are messy and disorganized in biblical proportions. My once long held stereotype of the organized, clean and tidy girl was thrown out the window.

As I have gotten older I have come to appreciate being neat and at least a little organized. I’m not anal about it but I can appreciate being able to see my bedroom floor. Many nights I make my daughters kiss me good night in the living room because going to tuck them into bed only makes my blood boil. The worse part if these girls have given up many a weekend day dedicated to cleaning their rooms. Sure if they actually just got to it and did it they would be done in an hour or two. But, they drag it out to an all-day event.

What is most maddening is the fact they can sacrifice the better part of a weekend to cleaning their room and then two days later it is a train wreck again, it might have actually gotten worse. If they ever by some act of God kept their room clean for a full week I think I might die from shock. I don’t know what to do, am I paying for the sins of my youth? To hark back to a previous blog is this part of the “get three just like you” curse? How do I break it? Apologize to my Mom?

The best I can hope for is that they grow out of it and turn into those organized and clean girls I grew up knowing. That they will realize that leaving their things where they last used them isn’t the best idea. I’m not holding my breath right now though, I’m thinking I have years of rooms with no floors, stuff littered in the hall and me serving a penance for never keeping my room straight.

Leave a Reply

