Should I be pissed?

Apparently parents all over are angry about the PARCC test. I can honestly say I haven’t paid much attention to it. I’m sure to some that makes me a horrible parent but honestly what does this test really mean long term for my daughters? I took the Iowa Basics and you know what? The only time it had any effect on my life was when I was taking them.

I never had trouble getting into a college because of my Iowa Basics test scores. Never in a job interview did it come up or hold me back. Trust me there was a lot holding me back but the Iowa Basic Skills Test wasn’t one of them. I’m pretty sure that this test will not have an adverse effect on my girls.

I know a lot of parents in my township are going ape over this test and teachers don’t seem to be supporting it. The crescendo of this can be found in the anti-PARCC tests PSA’s,like the one below.

http://bcove.me/3wmdwfon

(How f’n hilarious was that. It is really one of the most unintentionally funny things I have ever seen).

Well as of today both my daughter’s Julia and Mia (Olivia is too young) have taken a part of the PARCC test and neither of them came home crying. Amazingly my 11 and 8 year old have not found the demands of this test too stressful. It seems that parents and teachers are trying to use the children’s supposed “anxiety” to further their own agenda. It’s a shame that to make their point they use children has their mechanism. Something tells me the results to this PARCC test might be tied into funding which is probably what their real concern is.

Listen I realize this PARCC test is supposed to be hard. From what is being said they are not expecting good results. God forbid we challenge these kids especially considering again, this test will have absolutely no effect on their future. The PARCC test replaced the NJ Ask test and Julia killed the NJ Ask two years in row (this is Mia’s first test year). So while I am not enraged by this test if Julia doesn’t do well on PARCC I know it has to be the tests fault and I will then be pissed. You will hear me screaming “What are we doing!?!?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

