Vacation Wrap Up

The vacation week is over and I’m sad. Actually sad might not describe it; it is more of a sense of dread knowing I have to work tomorrow. Monday is tough enough to go back to work under any normal circumstance but it is 100 times worse after a week vacation. Can’t I just win the lottery and not have to work and constantly be going on vacation? Is that too much to ask?

I left off on “Vacation Day Four” which was really the end of the vacation. Friday was a day of rest much like God did on the seventh day. Which brings me to the thought, what did he do after he rested? The bible clearly states he was done his work and rested. I get that, creating a universe is going to take a lot out of you but what did he do after? Didn’t he just complete his work? Isn’t it just rest from there on out? Did he have a day job to get to? Maybe some volunteer work? I digress.

Saturday turned out to be a fun, albeit disappointing day. It started out with me cutting the grass which fortunately wasn’t the fun part. We took the girls to a Sky Blue FC soccer game. For those of you who don’t know Sky Blue is a professional women’s team that plays in the NWSL. It was New Jersey Youth soccer night and we got discounted tickets. The girls brought their jerseys and took part in a parade around the field at half time.

We took our girls to a Sky Blue game last year as well and I love taking them to see women’s professional soccer. Like most sports fan I watch male sports and most of the soccer I watch the British Premier League. I think it is important that they see women playing at the highest level and love the fact they can have sports heroes who are female to look up to. The best part is one of those athletes at the game yesterday they look up to was Alex Morgan, 11873441_10205756974336109_209378161959026402_n  who their daddy really likes to look at. Yes I know that makes me sound incredibly sexist especially while raising three girls but you know what? I don’t care what you think about me, as long as you keep reading and following my blog.

The part that was disappointing was according to the email after the games the player who were in the parade could come on the field afterward and meet the players. However, I think they were overwhelmed by the number of people who came to the game. Their average attendance is like 1,300+ and yesterday they set an attendance record for their team of 5,000 plus. The girls went to the entrance gate to the field hoping to be allowed on.

Unfortunately for them the closest they got was the gate entrance to the field. They got a high five from USWNT member Christie Rampone but most players did a few autographs but none reached them. They were able to snag Aubrey Bledsoe, one of the Sky Blue keepers, autograph. Overall they were very disappointed they didn’t get to meet the players like they thought they would.

One bright spot was Jillian Loyden who is a former USWNT goalie (and does color commentary for the Philadelphia Union) was at the game to give out an award. She happened to be standing near us after the game and the girls got to meet her. She was incredibly sweet and great with the girls. I watched her with other young ladies and was impressed how nice and generous with her time she was. 11899933_10205756975976150_7276438346017648835_n (1)

Sunday was another day of rest. Yes we required more days of rest than God, we are only human. It was a great week of vacation. I’m hoping to take more week vacations with the girls in the years ahead. Sure there were times I wanted to literally just leave them and finish the vacation with just my wife but hey that is what having kids are all about right? Totally wanting to choke them but knowing you will always remember the time you spent together. I would “Ground Hog” this week over and over if I could. 

Leave a Reply

